[4:55 PM] Michelle Dennison-Bunch

Low Residue Diet

Follow this diet for 5 days in preparation for your colonoscopy. The list below details what foods are allowed and which ones to avoid.

Vegetables

veggies icon

Foods allowed:
  • tender, well cooked fresh, canned, and frozen vegetables
  • without seeds such as peeled carrots, green beans, and beets
  • ƒstrained vegetable juice
  • ƒstrained tomato sauce
Foods to avoid:
  • all raw vegetables, such as lettuce, onion, celery, cucumber, mushrooms, scallions, etc.
  • vegetables with seeds
  • tough, fibrous cooked vegetables such as:
    artichokes, asparagus, broad beans, broccoli and cauliflower, brussel sprouts, celery, corn, cucumber, eggplant, mushrooms, onion peas (green peas), sauerkraut and cabbage spinach, tomatoes, zucchini, summer squash, winter squash
Milk & Dairy

milk icon

Foods allowed:
  • milk and milk products
  • cow’s milk
  • ice cream
  • yogurt
  • ƒcheese
  • ƒcream
Foods to avoid:
  • fruited yogurt
  • any ice cream or cheese with nuts or seeds
  • any milk products if you are lactose intolerant
Meats & Protiens

meat icon

Foods allowed:
  • cooked, tender fish, poultry, beef, lamb, pork, ham, veal, organ meatsƒ
  • eggsƒ
  • cheeseƒ
  • tofu
  • tuna fishƒ
  • smooth peanut butter and other smooth nut butter
Foods to avoid:
  • non-tender meatsƒ
  • gristle
  • hot dogsƒ
  • salami, cold cuts
  • meat substitutes made with whole grains, nuts, or seeds
  • dried beans, peas, lentils
  • crunchy style peanut butter and other crunchy nut butters
Beverages

water icon

Foods allowed:
  • coffee and tea
  • carbonated beverages
  • apple juice
  • strained juice
  • bottled water
  • tomato juice
  • fruit drinks without pulp, such as fruit punch
  • Kool-Aid or Hi-C (without red dye)
  • nutritional supplements without added fiber, such as Boost or Ensure
Foods to avoid:
  • any beverage containing pulp or seeds, such as orange or grapefruit juice
  • prune juice
  • nutritional supplements that contain fiber
Fruits

fruit icon

Foods allowed:
  • canned or cooked fruit without skins or seeds (peaches, pears, apricots, apples)ƒ
  • applesauceƒ
  • ripe bananasƒ
  • jellied cranberry sauce
Foods to avoid:
  • fruited yogurt
  • any ice cream or cheese with nuts or seeds
  • any milk products if you are lactose intolerant
Breads, cereals, and starches

grains icon

Foods allowed:
  • canned or cooked fruit without skins or seeds (peaches, pears, apricots, apples)
  • ƒ applesauce
  • ƒ ripe banana
  • ƒ jellied cranberry sauce
Foods to avoid:
  • raw fruit (bananas are okay) canned pineapple, oranges, grapefruit sections, mixed fruit
  • dried fruitƒ
  • all berries, melonsƒ
  • whole cranberry sauceƒ
  • avocadoƒ
  • coconut
Miscellaneous

sugar cubes icon

Foods allowed:
  • salt, sugar, ground or flaked herbs and spices
  • vinegar
  • ketchup and mustard
  • soy sauce
  • jelly (but not jam or preserves)
Foods to avoid:
  • pepper
  • seed spices
  • seeds and nuts
  • coconut
  • popcorn
  • jams or preserves
  • pickles and olives